0 Menu

THE YEARNING - From Dawn Till Dusk (2011-2014) (CD)


01 Dawn
02 If You Were My Boyfriend
03 Baby Be Mine
04 The Way You Love Me
05 Everybody Knows (I'm Still In Love With You)
06 Don't Call Me Baby
07 Gotta Pull Myself Together
08 Jeremy
09 Eyes Of A Movie Star
10 I Just Wanna Hold Your Hand (On Christmas Day)
11 See You Again
12 Boy Racer
13 Love Is Like A Rollercoaster
14 Kiss You In The Summertime
15 Too Young
16 Why's She Making Those Eyes At You?
17 Too Shy
18 Heart Beats A Little Bit Faster
19 All Hung Up On You
20 Pretty Lies
21 You Make Lovin' You Easy
22 Dusk

Non-UK customers try our partner mail order shops: USA Darla.com / Japan TheStoneRecords.com / Spain Elefant.com

To say that Joe Moore is prolific is to say not nearly enough. To his ever-growing collection of releases under the name THE YEARNING, you have to add the fantastic LIA PAMINA album he produced and composed, as well as several new and very different projects that will come out this 2017, like THE PERFECT KISS’s first album, full of tasty electro-pop songs, released this March.

His productions are becoming more well known all over the world, from the US to Japan. Their signature effusive, romantic, and elegant sixties-style pop is already a trademark! That’s why the release of “From Dawn Till Dusk (2011-2014)” is big news. Big for all the newcomers, because they can get their hands on the completely sold out first singles, EPs and Mini-LPs; and big for the more experienced fans, because they can get access to hard-to-find tracks from compilations and B-sides, and even some previously unreleased songs; and because it’s a way to enjoy this huge collections of songs as a whole, available together for the first time on CD Digipak.

“From Dawn Till Dusk (2011-2014)” includes songs from their first two Mini-LPs, “Jukebox Romance” and “Still In Love”, the B-sides from the singles “Baby Be Mine” and “If I Can't Have You”, the song they shared with THE SCHOOL on the split-single for Kingfisher Bluez, the song that was released on the Elefant compilation "A Christmas Gift For You From Elefant Records" and three previously unreleased songs (“Dawn”, “Love Is Like A Rollercoaster” and “Dusk”). The result is truly amazing.

It’s a sixties-pop treaty with more than twenty songs, and Maddie Dobie’s and Justyna Halas’ delicious voices, full of exceptional arrangements and exquisite choruses, with songs about love and disillusionment, about loneliness and the need to have someone by your side. Like we said, trademark work.

Marvellous songs like “If You Were My Boyfriend”, “Baby Be Mine”, “Don't Call Me Baby”, “See You Again” and “Eyes Of A Movie Star” draw a straight line to Phil Spector, and groups like THE RONETTES, THE SHIRELLES and MARTHA AND THE VANDELLAS, among many others.

Moore’s latest songs, without losing that breath of the sixties, delve further into the territory of the chanson and the singer-songwriter (Lee Hazlewood). That makes this CD work like a marvellous compendium of an era where the sixties’ girl-group cult was the premise that THE YEARNING’s songwriting and production were based on.

21 original songs and a version of THE NOLAN’s “Gotta Pull Myself Together” - a perfect summary of the group’s first phase. We’ve got Joe Moore around for while. Let’s enjoy it.

THE YEARNING artist page - info, press, photos, lyrics, biog, discog